June 15, 2016

SWHR Attends Annual OSSD Meeting

The Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR®) attended the 10th annual Organization for the Study of Sex Differences (OSSD) meeting May 23-25, 2016, in Philadelphia. SWHR Vice President of Scientific Affairs Dr. Monica Mallampalli, PhD, MSc. served on this year’s OSSD Program Committee.

The 2016 meeting, “The Causes and Consequences of Sex Differences,” featured sessions on depression, multiple sclerosis, drugs and devices, and more. The meeting’s first day heavily featured sessions on the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and its moves toward inclusion of women and sex differences in the organization’s review process. Relatedly, SWHR convened a meeting in January of this year titled, “Achieving Meaningful Subgroup Data In Clinical Trial Design and Development: Scientific Considerations and Approaches Workshop,” which aimed to produce tangible feedback to share with the FDA and the broader clinical trials ecosystem.

This year’s Florence P. Haseltine Awards, named for and presented by SWHR founder Dr. Florence Haseltine, PhD, MD, went to Dionne Robinson, PhD, of NIAID and Rachael Werner of Temple University. SWHR Vice President of Scientific Affairs Dr. Monica Mallampalli, PhD, MSc. served on the 2016 OSSD Program Committee.

OSSD was founded in 2006 by member scientists and staff of SWHR, becoming an independent nonprofit educational organization in 2012. The OSSD annual meetings convene experts from across the health and science industries for a host of plenaries, panels, and breakout sessions on the subject of sex differences in health and medicine.

“The OSSD is delighted to continue our historic partnership with the SWHR,” said incoming OSSD president Margaret M. McCarthy, Ph.D. “We remain forever grateful to the Society for their role in the creation of the OSSD, their vision and dedication, and their ongoing support.”

For more information about OSSD or the annual meeting, click here.