August 17, 2015

The Society for Women’s Health Research Announces Three New Board Members

Washington, D.C.  (August 17, 2015)— The Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR®) is excited to announce the appointment of three new members to its Board of Directors. Joining the Board are Nieca Goldberg, MD, Bruce McEwen, PhD., and David Page, MD. “We are delighted with the opportunity to have such distinguished forward thinkers on SWHR’s Board of Directors. Their impressive expertise and passion for women’s health research and sex differences will provide invaluable perspective as we continue our mission to transform women’s health,” said Phyllis Greenberger, MSW, SWHR President & CEO.

Nieca Goldberg, MD

Nieca Goldberg, MD is a cardiologist and a nationally recognized pioneer in women’s heart health. She currently serves as the Medical Director of the Joan H. Tisch Center for Women’s Health at NYU Langone Medical Center, the Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine at the NYU School of Medicine, and Co-Medical Director of the 92nd Street Y’s Cardiac Rehabilitation Center. She is also a national spokesperson for the American Heart Association’s “Go Red” campaign, and serves on the Woman’s Day Editorial Advisory Board. Since 2008, Dr. Goldberg has hosted “Beyond The Heart,” a weekly radio show on SiriusXM Doctor Radio.

Dr. Goldberg has received numerous awards for her advocacy work on women’s heart health, including the American Heart Association’s Dr. With Heart Award, Woman’s Day magazine’s Red Dress Award, Jewish Women International’s Women to Watch Award and the Women at Heart 2006 Honoree Award from the Links Greater New York Chapter.

“I’m very proud to join the Society for Women’s Health Research’s Board of Directors. For 25 years, the organization has been championing equity in medical research. I’m glad to be uniting my hands-on work at the Joan H. Tisch Center for Women’s Health with the crucial policy and advocacy work SWHR continues to do,” said Dr. Goldberg.

Bruce McEwen, PhD

Bruce McEwen, PhD, is the Alfred E. Mirsky professor of neuroscience at the Rockefeller University, where he also runs the Harold and Margaret Milliken Hatch Laboratory of Neuroendocrinology. He is a past president of the Society for Neuroscience, and is currently a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Institute (now National Academy) of Medicine. A prolific author, Dr. McEwen has published more than 700 peer-reviewed articles on stress and sex hormone effects on the brain and has been featured in several media outlets.  He has co-authored two books for a general audience, The Hostage Brain with Harold M. Schmeck, Jr. and The End of Stress As We Know It with Elizabeth Norton Lasley.  Both are available as eBooks.

Dr. McEwen has received numerous awards including a share of the IPSEN Foundation Prize in Neuroplasticity, the Gold Medal Award from the Society for Biological Psychiatry, the Pasarow Award in Neuropsychiatry, the British Endocrine Society’s Dale Medal, the Goldman-Rakic Prize for Cognitive Neuroscience from the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation, the Karl Spencer Lashley Award from the American Philosophical Society and the Gregory Pincus Medal from the Worcester Foundation for Biomedical Research.

“I look forward to contributing to SWHR’s goal of transforming women’s health and adding my expertise in hormone actions and neurobiology to that which already exists in SWHR,” said Dr. McEwen.

David Page, MD

David Page, MD, is Director of the Whitehead Institute, a professor of biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), and an investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. His laboratory is exploring fundamental differences between males and females in health and disease, both within and beyond the reproductive tract. The Page lab recently discovered that XY and XX sex chromosomes account for subtle differences in the molecular biology of male and female cells and tissues throughout the body. This important finding emerged from the lab’s comparative genomic and evolutionary studies of the sex chromosomes of humans, other mammals, and birds.

Dr. Page serves on the Selection Committees of the March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology, the National Academy of Sciences Award in Molecular Biology, and the Taubman Prize in Translational Medical Science.  He is a member of the advisory boards of Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Dental Medicine, the Searle Scholar Program, and the Board of Directors of PepsiCo. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.

Dr. Page has received numerous awards including a MacArthur Prize Fellowship, the Amory Prize for Advances in Reproductive Biology and Medicine from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Curt Stern Award from the American Society of Human Genetics, and the March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology.

“I’ve focused my entire career on the evolution and function of the sex chromosomes, and it’s become increasingly clear that they play under-recognized, under-appreciated roles in the biological differences in disease,” said Dr. Page.  “Thus, I’m delighted to be contributing to the Society’s work, as our interests are perfectly aligned.”

For more information about serving on the SWHR board, please contact sitting board members at


The Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR®), is a national non-profit based in Washington D.C. that is widely recognized as the thought-leader in promoting research on biological differences in disease. SWHR is dedicated to transforming women’s health through science, advocacy, and education. Founded in 1990 by a group of physicians, medical researchers and health advocates, SWHR aims to bring attention to the variety of diseases and conditions that disproportionately or predominately affect women. For more information, please visit