April 2, 2015

The Society for Women’s Health Research Honors Champions of Women’s Health at 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner

For Immediate Release   
April 2, 2015

The Society for Women’s Health Research Honors Champions

of Women’s Health at 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner

Washington, D.C., (April 2, 2015) – The Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR®), held a black-tie gala on March 25, 2015, in celebration of 25 years of transforming women’s health. More than 600 guests gathered at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, Washington D.C. to commemorate this milestone.

The gala, featuring Judy Woodruff as the evening’s master of ceremony, honored the accomplishments of several champions of women’s health, and opened with an anniversary video, chronicling SWHR’s efforts to put women’s health at the forefront of research.

Following the video, Susan Alpert, PhD, MD, Chair of SWHR’s Board of Directors presented Dr. Francis S. Collins, Director of the National Institutes of Health with the Pioneering Biomedical Research Award, for his efforts in ensuring that biological sex is a fundamental variable in research. Women’s Health Research Legacy Awards were presented to Members of Congress: Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA), Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D – CT), Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY) and the Dr. Estelle Ramey Award for Women’s Health Leadership was presented to former Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton for making women’s health and well being both a national and international priority. She accepted the award via video.

John Seng, Founder & CEO of Spectrum Science Communications and Incoming Chair of SWHR’s Board of Directors and SWHR President and CEO Phyllis Greenberger also co-hosted an interactive session where they quizzed guests on differences in health between women and men.

Two fellowships were announced in recognition of Dr. Florence P. Haseltine, SWHR Founder and Phyllis Greenberger, SWHR President and CEO; honoring their outstanding leadership: The Florence Haseltine Science Fellowship, which will help train the next generation of women and men focusing on the importance of sex and gender differences in health and disease; and the Phyllis Greenberger Policy Fellowship, which will foster the next generation of advocates for women’s health research. Seed money for the Phyllis Greenberger Policy Fellowship has been graciously provided by PWR.

SWHR also announced it will be releasing a book, titled “The X Effect: The Fight to Personalize Medicine for Womankind”, which records the decades of struggle to include women and minorities in medical research.

Click here to watch a recording of SWHR’s 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner.


The Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR®), is a national non-profit based in Washington D.C. that is widely recognized as the thought-leader in promoting research on biological differences in disease and is dedicated to transforming women’s health through science, advocacy, and education. Founded in 1990 by a group of physicians, medical researchers and health advocates, SWHR aims to bring attention to the variety of diseases and conditions that disproportionately or predominately affect women.

For more information, visit www.SWHR.org.  Follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SWHR.