May 2, 2022

2022 Annual Awards Gala Gallery

Supporters of the Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR) gathered for SWHR’s 2022 Annual Awards Gala on Thursday, April 28, 2022 to honor leaders who have devoted their careers to improving women’s health and women’s advancement in science and medicine.

Wanda Barfield, MD, MPH, FAAP, RADM USPHS (ret.), Director of the Division of Reproductive Health (DRH) within the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP) at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) received the Health Public Service Visionary Award. Diana W. Bianchi, MD, with Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development at the National Institutes of Health presented the award

Pfizer received the Health Industry Visionary Award, accepted by Judy Sewards, Vice President of the Head of Clinical Trial Experience for Pfizer’s Global Product Development organization. Shontelle Dodson, PharmD at Astellas and the SWHR Board Chair presented the award.

Sudip S. Parikh, PhD, CEO for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and executive publisher at the Science family of journals, received the Health Education Visionary Award. Laura Cohen with Eli Lilly and Company presented the award.

Kaveeta Vasisht, MD, PharmD, Associate Commissioner for Women’s Health at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) gave opening remarks at the event. News4 reporter Derrick Ward hosted the proceedings.


Thank you to Jon Fleming Photography for the evening’s images.