April 16, 2018

SWHR to Honor Three Visionary Women at Annual Awards Dinner

The Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR) will honor Janet Woodcock, MD, of the Food and Drug Administration, Christi Shaw of Eli Lilly and Co., and Colleen Conway-Welch, PhD, of the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing with the Health Visionary Award at its 28th Annual Awards Dinner on May 1 at the InterContinental Washington D.C. – The Wharf.

FDA Commissioner Scott Gottlieb, MD, will give the keynote address and provide his vision for women’s health at the FDA, as well as present Woodcock with her award.

“SWHR is honored to present Dr. Woodcock, Ms. Shaw, and Dr. Conway-Welch with this award to recognize their efforts in advancing women’s health,” said Amy M. Miller, PhD, SWHR’s president and CEO. “In their own way, each of these remarkable women has been a leader, an advocate, and an ally for women and their health care needs.”

Janet Woodcock, director of the FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, has raised the standard of excellence in drug safety and patient care during her 30+ years at the FDA. She played a lead role in improving the drug review process, including making it more open and transparent, while also creating unprecedented opportunities for patient participation and improving drug safety management within and outside the FDA.

Christi Shaw, Eli Lilly senior vice president and president at Lilly Bio-Medicines, has served as a valuable thought leader in the biopharmaceutical industry for three decades, exhibiting tireless dedication to the needs of patients. She also founded the More Moments More Memories Foundation to provide people with cancer access to the critical treatment innovations they need.

Colleen Conway-Welch, dean emerita of the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing, transformed the school into one of the top advanced practice nursing programs in the country during her 29 years as dean. She is an American Academy of Nursing Living Legend for her profound contributions to the nursing profession, health education and public policy. She also served on the board of the Society for Women’s Health Research.

Award-winning journalist Leon Harris, who anchors News4 at 4 and contributes to other weekday newscasts at NBC4 in Washington, will emcee the awards dinner again this year after his successful appearance in 2017.

Proceeds from the event will benefit SWHR’s science, advocacy, and education programs, which ensure that women’s health remains a national priority. SWHR thanks the event sponsors, including Benefactor-level sponsor Eli Lilly and Co. and Gold-level sponsors AbbVie, Amgen, Astellas, Pfizer, and Dr. Mary Lake Polan and Frank Bennack Jr.

For tickets to the event, visit the SWHR website or contact the Development Team at development@swhr.org. For media interested in attending, contact Emily Ortman at eortman@swhr.org.